Finally seeing progress

So this isn’t the most flattering picture of me ever, but this is what Sunniva currently looks like.  I love the edge, which has a hem bind off that looks nice and neat and tailored, and I love the color, which is so rich and beautiful, and I love the way the Bluefaced Leicester wool feels and drapes.  (I have the worst time spelling Leicester.  I pronounce it Lester in my head, which I think is right or close to right, but then I want to spell it sans the ce. English, man.  Tough language.)

This version is going to have three quarter length sleeves that puff close to the ends.  I have a shirt with this sort of sleeve, and I think it’s very flattering, though there’s a part of me that thinks I shouldn’t push it and should just make fitted sleeves instead.  Or half sleeves.  A number of people have commented on liking the sleeves as they are, as cap sleeves, too, but I think I’d like this version to be the longer sleeved version.

The kids are now home for the summer, and we’re in the midst of our annual Rotten Cereal Week.  This is a tradition I have carried on from my childhood.  We’re pretty healthy eaters for most of the year, but one week out of the year, the week school lets out, each child can select a box of sugar coated evil and have it for breakfast.  Most mornings, breakfast is a bowl of Joe’s Os and milk with eggs and toast and orange juice or something.  But not this week.  This week breakfast comes in candy colors and candy flavors and it will make you completely insane.

Despite the unhealthy start to the day, we’re having a pleasantly laid back week thus far.  Poor Liam has a virus in his eyes, and he’s passed it on to me, but it’s not full blown pink eye, and we’re weathering it OK.  We’ve extended Rotten Cereal Week into Rot Your Brain Week as well, and have been watching far more cartoons than is usual, but I feel like the kids worked hard through the school year and need a little decompression right now.

Mr. Kninja’s week is not so laid back.  He’s working on a freelance job currently, which means his hours are 9 to 7 three days a week, and 9 (AM) to midnight the other two days.  He’s enjoying himself, but I have to admit that I’m looking forward to a time when he’s home more and gets a little more sleep.

I’m going to see this week how easy it is to transition to working on pattern design with three kids present nearly all of the time.  This should be exciting!

5 Responses to “Finally seeing progress”

  1. Amy Says:

    It’s looking lovely! I love the detail on the front. What will you trim the neck with?

  2. Jacey Says:

    That color is divine, and the sweater is very flattering.

  3. onmytiptoes Says:

    Oh, that color is just right on you. Of course, I’m in the middle of a pink phase, but honestly, it’s so flattering. 🙂 And I do so love all of the process posts you’ve been writing lately.

  4. Leah Says:

    Your Sunniva looks lovely! And I’m digging the idea of Rotten Cereal Week!

  5. Emily Says:

    I just posted on someone else’s blog that it’s easy to tell when someone is a really dedicated sewist/knitter because they start prioritizing the photos that are more flattering to the garment than to them. 🙂 (Not a back-handed insult to your personal appearance, but hopefully you know that.)

    Anyway, Sunniva is looking lovely! Gorgeous shaping – very flattering. And the center panel was worth all the work; it really adds visual interest & a slimming vertical line. I also love how long it is. So often sweaters are designed to be annoyingly short.

Leave a Reply

