Very good things

1. A Verb for Keeping Warm is starting a yarn/fiber club this fall.  Each subscriber will receive a quantity of yarn or fiber (your pick) in a specially dyed color as well as a shawl pattern in each shipment.  The yarn club designers are Rosemary Hill, Stephen West, Mary-Heather Cogar, and me!  I am a big fan of each of the other designers in this club, as well as Verb’s gorgeous, naturally dyed yarn, so I am as excited as can be to be in such company!

2. Yellow Sunniva is almost done!  I really can’t wait to finish it up and get the pattern out.  I’m so happy with this sweater, and I hope other people love it too.

3. The Kninja household has just added a couple of members, who will be making occasional blog appearances.

These are our new baby dumbo rats, named Rose and Daisy by my kids.  Rose is in the foreground and Daisy is behind her above.  I love pet rats, but it’s been many years since we had any pets at all.  We’ve sorely missed having animals about the place, and it’s such a joy to have them around again.  Rats get a bad rap, but let me do a bit of evangelizing and say that they make really excellent pets, as they are smart, clean, social, and small.  Pet stores tend to stock rats with the other small rodents, but rats, unlike mice, hamsters, and guinea pigs, are omnivores, and should have a similar diet to humans to stay healthy.  Our girls were purchased from a rat breeder, and have been handled since birth, which means they’re really friendly and sweet.  Right now the babies need extra protein, so in addition to their usual food they are eating scrambled eggs on a pretty regular basis.

13 Responses to “Very good things”

  1. Marion Says:

    Thank you for ALL of this. Have already signed up to learn more re: fiber club; cannot wait to see your work; and the rats are precious cupcake angels!

    Hope you are feeling better.

  2. Kate Says:

    I am not a rat fan. But these two are just too cute! I may be taking steps to accpetance just from this post 🙂

  3. Olivia Says:

    So cute! You evangelize well.

  4. Julie Says:

    oh my gosh, those baby rats are sooooo cute!!!!! I completely agree that rats are very misunderstood mammals; they do make excellent pets are really quite clever. that’s good thinking on the scrambled eggs!!

  5. Ghislaine Says:

    They are so sweet!

  6. Kristen@TheFrugalGirl Says:

    Normally rats do not appeal to me, but darn, that is a cute picture.

  7. Sarah Says:

    This is terrible news — how am I going to resist a yarn club that combines AVFKW and a pattern by YOU? (And those other excellent designers, of course.) And how am I going to justify doing such a thing with a new baby in the house? Especially when I may or may not have just bought a toddler-sweater quantity of DK weight from Orangeflower after reading your recommendations. (It was called “Minnow.” I was powerless.)

    The ratties are darling. So soft and clean and grey, with those tidy little whiskers. I had hamsters as a child, but my friend Kate had a rat. We used to take him outside and make all kinds of tunnels and obstacle courses for him, and once he ate a small slug. It was riveting.

  8. Emily Says:

    I was skeptical about all the rat-love on Twitter, but I must admit: those ladies are awfully cute. Look at their little ears!

    Can’t wait to see the Verb pattern, also. 🙂

  9. cosymakes Says:

    aw… i’ve had a couple of rats. such good pets! love them.

  10. orata Says:

    congrats on the yarn club and sunniva… but OMG RATTIES! They are adorable! I used to have a rat and he was a fantastic pet. Smart, clean, friendly. People just get scared of their tails, but they are so much better than hamsters. No biting, no potty accidents, no walking off tables, and they seem genuinely excited to see you and hang out with you.

  11. Danielle Dellinger Says:

    I commend you on your rat family addition. They are very misunderstand. Smart little creatures that added love and adventure to our household and were sincerely mourned upon their passing (one after the other as rats are prone to do). Best of luck on the new family members!

  12. delighted Says:

    More rat pictures, please please please?

  13. Cutlery Tray : Says:

    my cousin runs a local pet store and i love looking at those cute puppies that he keeps on the store,.-

Leave a Reply

