A little something

Two little somethings, really!  I have been meaning to make mitts for all my kids for ages now, but somehow it always gets put off.  Come autumn and winter, our walks to school involve nippy weather and little hands feel pinched.  Pockets help, of course, but mitts would be even better.  And of course, the poor kiddos with the knitting mother don’t have any.  I had some leftover Sanguine Gryphon Bugga! from a test knit for Westknits that I can’t yet show you, and the color is Liam’s favorite, so it seemed like fate to whip him up a pair of little mitts.

The yardage on the Bugga! must be very generous, because I still have a fair quantity left over when I’d expected to use it all up in the test knit!  It is such a pleasure to knit with this yarn.  It’s unusual for yarn this soft to feel so sturdy, and of course, the color is amazing.  This is Beyer’s Jewel Scarab, and it looks like a solid, but there are little variations in the color that are just beautiful – barely there blues and yellows that give the color depth and beauty.  I could squish these all day.  There’s a decent chance that they’ll be lost early in the school year, of course, but with so little yarn and time spent, I think it’s worth it!  Now I just need to make mitts for the other two.

5 Responses to “A little something”

  1. thea Says:

    I love mitts! Those are perfect.

    BOTH my sisters are in your town this weekend! If only I was there too. snif.

  2. Emily Says:

    That’s one of my favorite colors, too! These are so cute & look deliciously warm. 🙂

  3. Kate Says:

    These are so cute! What pattern did you use?

  4. Wei Siew Says:

    Great minds think alike! I made exactly the same style for my little boy last week. One in green and the other in red, as per request. They’re just so practical!

  5. Jodi Says:

    Love the color, love the pattern, love the finished product. I’m kind of a mitt freak, despite the fact that I’ve only made one pair so far. There are many lined up for Christmas present projects. 🙂

Leave a Reply

