Into existence

All those long months back, I had this idea for a sweater that I drew on paper and submitted to Knitscene. They didn’t want it, which I’m ultimately happy with, because I got to take my time and keep getting more and more fiddly until I had two versions of the sweater.  Yesterday I finally finished the second version, and today I’m having that moment you get in any sort of creative endeavor where you look at something you’ve made and realize that the thing that once existed only in your own head is now a physical reality.

I got unsure about the lace panels as I was finishing them up, but now I’m so glad I went through with it!  It feels finished now, and I think the lace does something really different and special to a simple tee shirt pattern.  The buttons, Victorian glass numbers from Green Ray Productions, are the final touch to make this special.  The body of the sweater is knit in Malabrigo Sock (under two skeins) and the lace is Misti Alpaca Lace.  It is a ridiculously soft little number.

For comparison’s sake, here’s this photo paired with the original drawing.  Admittedly, the angle of the photograph isn’t wholly conducive to comparison, but I think you can see how it turned out.  I’ll probably take at least one photo with the silly ribbon belt I originally imagined!

So with this done, it should be less of the all Sunniva all the time situation that it’s been for months around here.  I tell you, I’m very happy with how this turned out, but I will think twice before deciding to design a sweater in two versions and light fingering weight yarn any time soon!

15 Responses to “Into existence”

  1. Amy Says:

    It just looks lovely. Well worth the time, in my opinion anyway!

  2. knitnstitch Says:

    Its really nice it looks to me like it was knitscenes loss!

  3. willyg Says:

    Kristen, I’m so happy for you! It looks beautiful, and it makes me want to knit a T-shirt. Maybe without the lace, though 😉

  4. Vanessa Says:

    It looks absolutely beautiful, Kristen. I’ve really enjoyed seeing it slowly revealed through all of your posts! Great work!

    BTW, this looks like something that I would be happy to knit for myself, even in sockweight yarn.

  5. Anna Says:

    Gorgeous!
    I love that moment too – the moment where something turns out just the way you want. For me, I think that’s the most amazing thing about getting better at a craft (any craft) – you eventually reach the stage where you have the technical know-how to be able to translate your ideas into reality. It’s such a wonderful thing!

  6. Marion Says:

    It’s MAGNIFICENT! Mazal tov, mazal tov!

  7. Rebecca Says:

    Just lovely – and how creative of you to be able to make what you had envisioned – so often I can “see” something, but not quite create it – cheers to you!

  8. Emily Says:

    GORGEOUS! I love this version even more than the last. The lace really adds a nice touch, and those buttons are perfect!

  9. roseunraveled Says:

    Wow. That’s incredibly gorgeous!

  10. whitney Says:

    So, so lovely! I love that feeling, of taking something that used to live inside your head and making it into something real, on the outside. Hooray for creating things!

  11. needlesinthehay Says:

    I liked the purple long-sleeved version, but I LOVE this sweet yellow Sunniva! Cute little sleeves and lovely lace detailing are right up my alley. I can’t wait for the pattern! 🙂

  12. Sarah Says:

    Oh, she is looking fine indeed! I’ve long wished I had the coloring to wear yellow. I’m really looking forward to the modeling shots, ribbon belt and all! (I love the belt in the sketch, by the way.)

  13. Sue Says:

    I love the little lace collar!

  14. Mokkakissa Says:

    I have wanted something like that also. Are you going to release the pattern?

  15. Natalie Says:

    This is so lovely! Can’t wait for more pictures.

Leave a Reply

