Back to school knit

Eleanor starts kindergarten this year. She also outgrew her much loved Tomten jacket finally and most of her lightweight jackets and her coats. So it seemed logical and celebratory to make her a new coat for school. I bought the yarn, Malabrigo Twist, some time back when it was on sale at The Fiber Fix, and then was waiting for a chance to make something cute out of it. I had planned on writing up a whole process post, but the days are slipping by as we get ready for school to start, and at the end of each, I realize I haven’t written up a post at all, so for now, here are pictures – nothing fancy, as Nora was not especially cooperative when I was attaining them. But I think the coat came out rather nicely, even though it was largely spontaneous. I hadn’t planned on writing up a pattern, but I’ve gotten a few requests, and it’s been added to the queue.

10 Responses to “Back to school knit”

  1. Kristen Says:

    Aww, she (and the sweater!) are so cute.

    The rat is too. 😉

  2. Ingrid Says:

    The jacket is very lovely (especially the gathers on the sleeves). I would be inclined to make it for my small humans should the chance arise.

  3. thea Says:

    She’s adorable – and I love the ruffly detail on the jacket!

  4. Julie Says:

    Such a great little coat!! I love the button band, and the colour is amazing.

  5. Barb Says:

    She is adorable – I love the now-longer pixie! The sweater is pretty cute, too!

  6. Emily Says:

    You have a beautiful daughter, lady. And her new coat is very cute as well – love that color!

  7. swayknits Says:

    Aww, your little girl is adorable! The mouse isn’t bad, either.

  8. Hasmif Says:

    Love! She’s adorable, the rat is adorable but that sweater is just fantastic. It has so much style.

  9. Jessica Says:

    It’s gorgeous. Your kids are so well-dressed. I love these pictures of Nora and the rattie.

  10. the Lady Says:

    Oh my GAWD she is so cute and so is that jacket and she is so cute in that jacket.

Leave a Reply

