Scramble

I’ve fallen behind in keeping up with this blog, which is a shame, as it’s something I really enjoy working on. However, I am going to take a current illness as an opportunity and update just a little.

This is Rosa. Rosa is currently out for test knitting, and the pattern will be available in December. I mentioned in passing a few times that I had an idea for an accessories collection. Rosa is not the first item I’ve finished for this collection, but she will be the first released. The other accessories for the collection will be a little delayed due to deadline projects, but the good news is that with Ravelry’s new promotional tools, purchasing Rosa now and the collection later won’t penalize early buyers for their loyalty. I will be able to discount the purchase of Rosa from the cost of the full ebook when it is ready, so you can have your cake and eat it too!

The patterns in the new collection are all named after women I admire for one reason or another. Rosa has a floral pattern and a Spanish feel, but that’s actually sort of coincidental, as the shawl was named after Rosa Parks long before I started it. The yarn is gorgeous Rocky Mountain Dyeworks Bow Falls Fingering, a light fingering weight yarn of Blue Faced Leicester wool. I loved working with the yarn, as the saturated color with just a little variegation revealed new depth and surprises after each row. This is an amazing red – there are at least three separate saturated reds at work here, meaning that the yarn revealed barely visible blues or yellows tinging the main vibrant shade as I knit with it. I used a very simple zig zag lace at the edging to mimic fringe.

It’s been a real pleasure to work on this collection. I’m actually in the midst of the largest project out of the lot – another shawl/wrap, this one quite large and involved – and while it’s taking a little while, I sincerely hope and believe the end result will be worth it.  I spent a lot of time on color with this bunch, and I’m glad of it, because color is what tends to keep me tied to a knitting project. I’m already planning more color palettes for the future, just because!

13 Responses to “Scramble”

  1. nestra Says:

    Rosa is a beautiful shawl, can’t wait for it to be released.

    Hope you feel better!

  2. pineapplesurprise Says:

    Your triangular shawls are always so beautiful– have you ever considered working with a raglan shape? I like to wear my shawls with the point in front like a scarf, and often find my triangular shawls are too short for this purpose. I’m hoping to adapt some of your patterns to this purpose, but it would be lovely to get to knit one just as you wrote it 🙂

    • Kristen Says:

      Thank you! I don’t have any raglan shawls currently planned, but I am working on a shallower triangle and a shawl shape that is still evolving. I may make a raglan shawl as well, of course! Just haven’t got one sketched out just yet.

  3. Mokkakissa Says:

    Yes, eagerly waiting here…. I love that rose pattern.

  4. Leah Says:

    This is beautiful 🙂 I’ve never seen that lace pattern before.

  5. Amy Says:

    Rosa is beautiful! Can’t wait to see more of the collection.

  6. Julie Says:

    wow, that shawl is stunning!!! I look forward to your accessories collection.

  7. Leah Says:

    Oh, I love that! The lace pattern reminds me of the cutout paper banners that were everywhere recently for Dia de los Muertos. And the red is perfect for it — love!

  8. Natalie Says:

    Ooh, lovely!

  9. Nancy J Says:

    I have fallen for “shawling” and this is so lovely. I will be watching….for the pattern.

  10. Mylynedj Says:

    What a gorgeous shawl! Hope you feel better soon.

  11. Luci Says:

    Rosa is a beautiful shawl. I keep hoping I will check back with your blog and you will have released the pattern early. I would love to knit on it over the Thanksgiving holidays.

    Arabella is finished, and I hate to start something new to slow me down on knitting Rosa. I know, ………..get out the cheese. I hope you are feeling better.

  12. the Lady Says:

    Kristen, so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

