The deep end of the crafting pool

Hannah Thiessen of Life on the Double Point used the above words to describe a post at Flint Knits and it struck me that this is the most perfect term to describe some of the brainy and witty crafting blogs I love. This is a terribly abbreviated list, but I thought that since I have removed my blogroll for being too long, it would be nice to occasionally highlight some of the (many, many) craft blogs I read, especially since I’ve gotten far more sporadic about commenting on blogs. The following are three craft blogs that I think offer more than just crafting, blogs that provide food for thought, an argument (in the best sense of the word), and the comforting thought that other people, too, are spending time thinking about the politics and history and context of craft. My apologies in advance about the cloying and possible sycophantic sounding paragraphs attached. When you’re making a list of things you really enjoy and admire, it’s hard not to sound like a bit of a fawning idiot.

I added this picture of black violets for no good reason except that it's SPRING and I've got flowers on the brain.

Needled – Kate of Needled has long been a person I’ve admired for both her crafting and her skill with thought and word. Every single one of her lovely designs is brilliantly conceived and executed, but more than that, her blog offers a place to learn about the history of craft and the often complicated relationship that women have had to it over the years. Kate’s blog is what mine wants to be when it grows up. The funniest thing happened the other day, actually, when my husband came home all excited to show me the most amazing article he’d found on this blog – I had to read it, I would love it – and he pulled up Needled and showed me a familiar post. Needled is just a damn good read, and I’m grateful that Kate writes it. I feel lucky to read.

Flint Knits – I already mentioned Flint Knits, but it bears repeating. Pam’s blog is a challenge to think and consider and draw your own conclusions. She’s funny and smart, and her blog makes me feel like I’m sitting down with a group of friends to argue and talk and work something out. We won’t all agree in the end, but the discussion is really interesting. Pam also has some beautiful and fun to knit patterns, and her blog is political, feminist, historical, and very American. I feel like that last word is important, because a lot of blogs I’ve enjoyed for their context are not American, and since I am myself American, I like having a political and aware American representation of the craft world to turn to. Oh, and there’s swearing.

Feather and Fan – Feather and Fan cracks me up and makes me think. This post about Ravelry and difficulty ratings is one that I wish I’d written myself, but it’s far more thorough and interesting than what I’d have written. She started the conversation on Ravelry that led to the creation of the Big Issues Debate group, and to a really interesting conversation that spanned many blogs and posts about knitting and feminism and choices. And when that deep end feels a little too deep, there are always baby sloths to give the brain a break.

In other news, I’m at work on a spring pattern from Knitting Kninja. Keep your eyes peeled for this shawl, knit in seriously luscious yarns from A Verb for Keeping Warm. I’m writing up the pattern currently, and if I stick to the schedule, it will be out in May!

2 Responses to “The deep end of the crafting pool”

  1. orata Says:

    Thank you! Wow, I feel honored to make it onto this list. The shawl is looking lovely indeed! I still haven’t seen the new AVFKW store.

  2. Hannah Thiessen Says:

    who knew my tweet would resound with people! Gonna have to be clever more often. But more seriously, all the actual writing lately on blogs has been very inspiring for me.

Leave a Reply

