Other people are doing brilliant things

Hello, hello! I am in the midst of a lot of fun knitting that I haven’t photographed, but I thought I’d take a moment to point out some of my favorite recent happenings in the knitting world. There have been a lot of gorgeous patterns released recently, as usual, but I think there’s also been a lot of interesting developments in how people are thinking about knitting.

  • You’ve probably already heard about it, but Ysolda has a new book out, Little Red in the City. It is a collection of seven new sweater patterns, and those are lovely and well thought out and all that good stuff, but what makes the book especially exciting is that it details Ysolda’s techniques for making a sweater that fits in a flattering way. Since I preordered the book (rather late in the game!) I got the ebook version and the hardcover is on its way to me. The information in this book is invaluable to anyone serious about sweater knitting, and is a great addition to any design library. I find myself thinking in new ways about sweaters and coming up with new ideas to make my designs more flattering to a wide range of people. Considering sweaters in light of every aspect from material to construction to fit, this is a comprehensive and excellent tome. I’ve mentioned the Fit to Flatter series by Amy Herzog before, but I think that Little Red in complement with FtF makes for a new way of thinking about women’s bodies and how to design for them. I recommend both highly, and see them as a pair in my design reading arsenal.
  • Kate Davies has a new pattern out, Warriston, and it comes with her new digital magazine, Textisles. I downloaded it yesterday, and while I haven’t finished reading all the articles, what I’ve read so far is everything I loved about Kate’s blog needled; it is a well thought out, well written, tightly researched collection of information using textiles as the basis for gaining context and understanding of history, particularly as relates to the British Isles. The pattern, Warriston, is lovely and very much what one has come to expect of a Kate Davies pattern – something both wearable and interesting, classic, but with practical modern ideas. The pockets are my favorite detail of the sweater. Appropriately enough, it reminds me of one of those art smocks that I wore as a small child when painting.
  • Felicity Estrin, the Contrarian Knitter, has come up with a new and exciting way to make simultaneous top down set in sleeves. She calls her method Trompe L’Oeil Sleeve Caps, which is a particularly delightful name, in my opinion, and the first part of the method is written up here. Her method seems to create an especially beautiful sleeve cap with a good fit, and I am very excited to try it out soon.
  • You may also have heard of the new Contiguous Method by Susie Myers, also a way of making simultaneous top down set in sleeves. There is a Contiguous group on Ravelry dedicated to testing the method, which yields a set in sleeve and a little ridge on the shoulder. It also looks to have a lot of possibilities.
  • Laylock is offering a free shawl knitting cheat sheet, which is super duper handy. You can download it and it details the method and construction for five different top down shawl shapes. There are many other ways to shape a shawl, so this shouldn’t be seen as a limiting list, but again as a jumping off place. It’s a visually well thought out and well designed little sheet, and it’s very generous to offer it for free!

I’m surely leaving out some exciting new ideas that I’ve been enjoying, but I hope these links are a good jumping off place for someone else! Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Other people are doing brilliant things”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Oh, those new sleeve types are so exciting!

  2. Nancy Says:

    Thanks for this good information. I am going to download the cheat sheet for shawls now.

  3. Bethany Says:

    Thank you for these links! The shawl cheat-sheet and the sleeve tutorials are so exciting!

  4. Julie Says:

    this is an excellent round up of the knitting cleverness going on out there! brilliant stuff, thanks for the round up!

  5. indiecita Says:

    Kristin, I just wanted to thank you for such a lovely write-up and let you know that I put up part 2 of the Trompe L’Oeil sleeve caps today.

  6. Olivia_via Says:

    Thank you for this review of beautiful kniiting ideas !

Leave a Reply

