Treasures from Verb

It’s no secret that I love A Verb for Keeping Warm‘s yarns, and I live close enough to A Verb for Keeping Warm’s brick and mortar store that I can go there on a semi-regular basis. This is dangerous and wonderful all at once. I want ALL THE YARNS! Luckily, I have some small modicum of self restraint, and I am holding off from buying ALL THE YARNS until I’ve used up some of the yarns I already have. That doesn’t mean I haven’t gotten to play with Verb yarns in the meantime, though.

This year, Verb started its first yarn (or fiber) club, complete with four shawl patterns by four designers. I was designer number four, and I got to knit in the lovely and amazing Verb Floating, which is a delectable blend of alpaca, silk, and cashmere. Seriously, this stuff makes kitten fur feel like sandpaper. The color was an exclusive club shade of gorgeous corally pink, 2 Gems and a Pearl. I am not usually a fan of pink, nor do I think it flatters my skin tones, but Kristine managed to dye this yarn a pink that looks great on pretty much everyone. I have no idea how this is possible, but there you go.

I was excited by the fact that Verb is a local to me company, and I sought inspiration in the bay. One of my very favorite lace patterns is the one called Split Leaf in the first Barbara Walker treasury. Although I know it is an ostensibly arboreal pattern, I’ve always thought it looked more like scales. I also adapted an umbrella themed stitch pattern to create what I thought looked like a seashell edging. Fish scales and seashells, but the end result actually looked more like the architecture of old movie palaces than something sea related. The name of the pattern, Grand Lake, is after the beautiful old Grand Lake Theater in Oakland.

Getting to use such a luscious yarn and getting to work so many of my long held favorite ideas was a treat. Thank you so much to A Verb for Keeping Warm for including me in this first club!

The other Verb related object I have to show you is this Felicity hat knit in Verb Toasted.

I am the last knitter in the universe to make the Felicity hat, but it seems to be universally flattering to everyone. I love this hat so much and I will wear it often this winter. The color is Tidepool, and it is so so pretty. It reminds me of a smouldering volcano more than anything. I think I messed up the decreases of this hat somehow – mine certainly do not look like the ones I’ve seen in other people’s photographs – but I still love how it looks and wears. My husband told me I looked like a whaler and then a Jacobin on the day I finished it, and I’m choosing to take both remarks as compliments, because this is one damn cute chapeau.

What’s next for me in Verb yarn? I don’t exactly know, but I have this terribly inspiring skein of Creating just waiting for me to come up with something!

5 Responses to “Treasures from Verb”

  1. Clumsy Knitter Says:

    I was a member of the AVFKW club this year and this was my favorite shipment of them all. Thank you for such a beautiful pattern!

  2. kiwiyarns Says:

    Such a beautiful pattern!! Verb must be very happy with your creation! One of these days (once I’ve accomplished a full-scale lace number and not messed it up!) I will have to knit one of your stunning designs.

  3. Jacey Says:

    I LOVE the new shawl design. It’s gorgeous. I have one skein of AVFKW yarn in a vibrant shade of green. I hope to cast on with it sometime soon. Ooh, and your Felicity is beautiful as well!

  4. Bethany Says:

    Okay, you’ve convinced me. I am now in love with AVFKW. I need to knit that shawl pattern, now!

  5. Leah Says:

    Your shawl is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

