Wovember round up and rats

I had meant to post a lot more wool related posts in November, and even did the research for some, but life intervened, and suffice it to say that I am glad to see the back of November. It was a mess of applying to schools, illness, holidays, injury, and general overwhelmedness. Welcome, December!

So what did I do for Wovember? It wasn’t cold enough to dress primarily in wool for much of our November, but I did work on my happy fun times spare time project, which is a Jewel Lake Pullover for me in yummy Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted. I made two wool hats for my offspring, and we wore our hats and scarves when the temperatures dropped at all. I read up on the history of sheep farming and wool production. I looked at the Wovember blog a lot. It’s good to have the occasional reminder of what we’re doing and why, and why material matters. I’m sure some of what I learned will be informing my work as I go forward, and I’ll try to share more as it becomes cohesive and coherent.

Incidentally, isn’t this color, Poppy, gorgeous? It is such a lovely opaque red with just the right amount of orange. I love the color and I love how Shepherd Worsted feels while I’m knitting it. This is a seriously relaxing project when I get time to work on it.

This isn’t scientific or sensible or anything, but this does sort of circle around to what Wovember made me think about wool. The comfort inherent in sheep hair is astonishing. I think there’s something about touching this material that is good for the senses. It’s not just that it feels soft – many wools are not exactly soft – but the lanolin in the wool often leaves my fingers feeling better than they did before I touched wool. I know too much vegetable matter in yarn is bothersome, but a little is a reminder of where it came from – a living breathing animal that spends its time outdoors and is intimate with vegetable matter. Wool has a scent that may not be perfumed, but is a real animal smell, not unpleasant, and deeply connected to a larger world. And of course, wool keeps us warm when we wear it. No wonder so many stores wish to capitalize on these unspoken qualities of wool that the word can call to mind. It is a large comfort in a world that often demands comfort.

Hey, I promised you all pictures of our new pet rats and failed to follow through. So for your viewing pleasure, let me introduce Clio

and Amelia, who doesn’t really hold still for pictures.

Aren’t they cute? They are extraordinarily naughty, but we’re glad to have them. Rose is, too, though at times they are too rambunctious for her taste. She’s getting to be a very staid lady rat, and she doesn’t have the energy of the little ones.

I have some thoughts on the knitting world and the male gaze that I’d like to get in order, so if you have anything you think would be pertinent to such a discussion, let me know. Twitter seems like the best way to snag me lately, sadly enough.

5 Responses to “Wovember round up and rats”

  1. Sarah @ Ropeknits Says:

    I love your photo of Clio in the jug! I’m very fond of rats. We had a pet rat named Anna Maria a few years ago. Sadly, she died young, but she was a warm and loving pet and I still miss her.

  2. Natalie Says:

    The sweater is looking wonderful. That picture of Clio is adorable.

  3. Julie Says:

    Aww, adorable!!! they are super cute!!

  4. Robin Says:

    Your sweater looks so pretty! And just this AM, my DH & I were extolling the merits of wool vs. other fibers. There’s a lot of great stuff out there, but I always end up coming back to wool.

    And really, I would have never thought rats were cute until I saw yours. They’re adorable! 🙂

  5. Kristen@TheFrugalGirl Says:

    Clio peeking over the edge is just TOO cute for words.

Leave a Reply

