Orange you glad

Pantone’s Color of the Year for 2012 is Tangerine Tango, an orangey red or a red orange that screams, “HEY! I’m right HERE!”.

It is a coincidence that my new sweater is a similar red orange, but not an inappropriate one. I’m still here! I’m still hard at work. I’ve just reached pathological levels of mostly happy busyness. This frenetic, happy color seems apropos of my feelings lately, and I think it’s just gorgeous to boot.

The above sweater is of course the Jewel Lake Pullover, but for me this time, and with lengthened sleeves and torso. The yarn is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in Poppy, and it is soft and cozy and warm. I really like Shepherd Worsted for its wooliness. A lot of superwash wools are smooth, slick, and quite different in texture than a wool that is untreated. I like that sort of texture quite well, but there’s something really special about the fuzziness of untreated wool, and Shepherd Worsted manages to maintain that quality. It comes in a whole mess of gorgeous colors to boot, but I had to pick the Poppy after realizing that I was drawn back to it every time. I’m so glad I did!

3 Responses to “Orange you glad”

  1. The Duchess Says:

    Matches your bike perfectly! I love them both. x

  2. Sarah Says:

    Awesome! And I didn’t even know about the Pantone thing when I bought a whole mess of bright poppy red wool/silk this weekend and cast on a Deco cardigan. I just thought it looked like the antidote to a dreary Northwest winter and what’s felt like months of head colds and bronchitis. 🙂

    Love the new sweater and your orange bicycle!

  3. Raymonde Says:

    The sweater is really cute even without the ribbon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

