On wellness

I’m sorry to have dropped out suddenly and in the middle of my series on the male gaze, too. Basically, I’ve been sick for a month now, and it’s been really wearing. We went to the Maker Faire in May, our yearly big family outing, and we went for both days, which was a blast. But I was recovering from a head cold at the time, and surprisingly, heading out into a crowd and being really active for a couple of days when your immune system is on the fritz is not the best way to get better. I got sicker just after the faire and I’ve been sick ever since. I’m tired of it, but what can you do? I’m starting to get better now, and it’s slow, but it’s happening, so that’s good.

But illness is only part of my life and I’ve had a lot of good things happening in this time as well. As you may know if you’re a longtime reader, or if you follow me elsewhere, I have never finished my undergraduate degree, and I’ve always felt self conscious and embarrassed about this. Last autumn, I started applying to universities to go back to school full time. It was a harrowing process, one that I loathed along every step, but the end result is exciting: I’m going back to school this fall to finish my degree at Mills College in Oakland! Mills is a women’s college, the oldest women’s college in the West, and I’m smitten in every way. It turns out a lot of my crafty Bay Area friends are also Mills grads, so I’ll be entering some lofty company.

While being ill is hugely unpleasant in many respects, lying down a lot gives one a lot of time to knit and I haven’t been idle.

Cables in Lark

Cables cables cables cables

I’m working on a couple of little boy sweaters for a dear friend with two dear boys, and I’m in love with everything about this project. The yarn is Quince and Company Lark, which makes the bounciest happiest cables ever. The color is River, a cool, gentle blue that is very cheery and very much outside my usual range. I’ve progressed quite a bit since that photo was taken and I’m still just as crazy about the project as before. The yarn is a delight to knit with. It’s not a fancy yarn, but it’s so clearly well thought out for the hand knitter. It’s lofty and strong and bouncy and each stitch feels good on the needles.

Lovely pears

The lovely Bosc Hat, by Robin Ulrich

I also knit a Bosc Hat as a chemo cap for a friend’s grandma. The yarn is Knit Picks Comfy in Peony. The pattern, by Robin Ulrich, is clean, easy to follow, and results in a lovely hat. I plan to make another in wool, which I think will show the stitch pattern better, but the cotton blend is perfect for a chemo cap and will wash well. It’s very soft and very pleasant to look at. I highly recommend the pattern, and there is a matching scarf, should you wish for a set.

There’s secret knitting just finished and secret knitting started, and so my life is very full of knitting at the moment. And in the moment, it is my wellness. I may be sick, but I can make something. I can keep my mind and hands occupied. It takes the place of physical wellness until my body can catch up.

5 Responses to “On wellness”

  1. Andi Says:

    Congratulations on going back to school!

    I hope you feel better soon.

  2. kiwiyarns Says:

    Poor you! I’m glad you haven’t been too unwell to knit. Get well soon, and good luck with completing your degree.

  3. Allison Says:

    Congrats on your acceptance to Mills College! Hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚

  4. Natalie Says:

    The school thing rocks! Way to go! I think “mature” students get so much more out of it.

    I love the Lark sweater! I’ve worked with Lark a couple of times & it’s something I’d look for an excuse to use again. So very wooly and with delightful colours.

    I hope you are feeling better soon.

  5. orata Says:

    Congratulations! Oddly, my little sister (14 years my junior) is also starting school at Mills in the fall, so perhaps you’ll run into each other at orientation? (her name is Serena) πŸ™‚ I have heard lots of good things about the school– a great choice. Very excited for you!

Leave a Reply

